Nicholas P. Bollman Award

Nicholas P. Bollman Award

Recognizing leaders whose commitment to building strong, sustainable and equitable communities inspires others.

Nicholas P. Bollman, Funders’ Network co-founder and longtime friend.

About the Bollman Award

The Nicholas P. Bollman Award honors the memory of longtime friend and Funders’ Network co-founder, Nick Bollman, who died in 2007. The values that guided Nick’s life and his work, and his influence on others, personify the values and hopes of the Funders’ Network and continue to provide inspiration. Nick was a beacon of hope for all people who believe strongly in their obligation to improve conditions for future generations without hesitation or expectation of reward. We are proud to recognize leaders in the field who continue Nick’s legacy of advancing thoughtful and progressive solutions to a variety of contemporary problems.

Tonya Allen (2017 Winner)

The 2017 Bollman Award honored Tonya Allen, president and CEO of the Skillman Foundation, who has dedicated herself to investing in transformative ideas, removing barriers to opportunity, and improving lives in her hometown of Detroit. She developed the Skillman Foundation’s 10-year, $100-million Good Neighborhoods program, which provides services to meet community-established goals for improving the lives of children and families in a number of Detroit communities. Tonya was also one of the driving forces behind the Coalition for the Future of Detroit Schoolchildren—one of the most ambitious educational reform initiatives in Detroit’s history.

“I go by the belief that intelligence and talent is distributed equally, but opportunity is not,” said Tonya. “Without opportunity, you take away a child’s aspiration and hope.”

Read more about her deep connection to the City of Detroit and the role models who inspired her to lead a life of service here.

Past Winners

Amy Solomon (2016)
Lois DeBacker (2015)
Patricia Jenny (2014)
Luther Propst (2013)
Claudio Martinez (2012)
Dr. Emily Young (2011)
Hooper Brooks (2009)
Nicholas P. Bollman (2008)

View Past Winners