By Marci Ovadia, Senior Program Associate for Equity and Communications  

TFN Elects New Board Members at 2018 Annual Meeting

The network also elected new officers and bid farewell to departing board members in Houston

The Funders’ Network is proud to announce the appointment of three leaders in philanthropy to the network’s board of directors: Jessica Boehland, senior program officer at The Kresge Foundation; Don Hickman, vice president for community and workforce development for the Initiative Foundation; and Elizabeth Love, senior program officer for Houston Endowment.

The new board members were officially named to the Funders’ Network Board of Directors on March 20, during our 2018 Annual Conference in Houston.

“We are excited to have Elizabeth, Jessica and Don join the TFN board of directors, bringing with them a wealth of experience and expertise from their impactful work as funders, “ said Board Chairperson Tom Woiwode of the Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan. “They have all demonstrated a deep commitment to TFN and the shared goals we have as funders to create communities that are more resilient, sustainable and equitable places to live. We look forward to working alongside them in their new roles as board members.”

Please join us in welcoming these new members of TFN’s board of directors!

Jessica Boehland

Jessica Boehland works as a senior program officer at The Kresge Foundation, which is committed to expanding opportunities in America’s cities. Kresge’s Environment Program seeks to help cities build their resilience in the face of climate change, with work focused on climate change mitigation, preparedness for the effects of climate change, and social equity. Jessica leads the team’s grantmaking and other activities related to energy efficiency, renewable energy, and energy resilience.

Jessica is also co-chair of TFN’s GREEN! steering committee.

Prior to joining Kresge in 2008, Jessica served as managing editor of Environmental Building News and editor of GreenSource magazine. Her writing has appeared in these and numerous other publications. In 2017, Jessica was named among Midwest Energy News’ 40 Under 40, recognizing young leaders helping to drive America’s transition to clean energy. She serves on the board of the Environmental Grantmakers Association. Jessica holds a bachelor’s degree in Environmental Studies from Oberlin College and a master’s degree from the Yale School of Forestry and Environmental Studies.

Don Hickman

Don Hickman is the vice president for community and workforce development for the Initiative Foundation in Little Falls, Minn. He administers approximately $2 million in grants annually, and supervises the foundation’s programs to support community development, early childhood literacy and school readiness, new Americans and emerging entrepreneurs, and water quality protection or enhancement. He has been an active member of TFN since 2006 as a member of the River Partnership of Community Foundations and in the Philanthropic Preparedness, Resiliency, and Emergency Partnership (PPREP) cohort.

Prior to joining the Initiative Foundation, Hickman spent 10 years as an environmental consultant in Minnesota and Utah. Hickman has also served as a scientist and lobbyist with the Massachusetts Audubon Society, as a community organizer with the New England Rural Community Assistance Program, as a biologist with the National Park Service in Colorado, and as the water quality laboratory director for Gunnison County (Colorado). He received his undergraduate degree in biology from the University of Minnesota in 1982, and his master’s degree in Water Chemistry from Western Colorado State in 1986. He was working on a Ph.D. in aquatic ecology at Utah State University until he met his wife, who, Don says, “made him a better offer.”

Elizabeth Love

Elizabeth Love serves as senior program officer for Houston Endowment, a private philanthropic institution that seeks to enhance the vibrancy of greater Houston and advance equity of opportunity for the people who live here. Elizabeth oversees grantmaking for the foundation’s health and environmental portfolios as well as a portion of the arts and culture portfolio.

She most recently served as co-chair of TFN’s 2018 Annual Conference in Houston.

Prior to joining the foundation in 2009, Elizabeth served as director of Harris County Public Health’s Office of Policy and Planning, where she led strategic planning activities concerning health promotion, infectious disease, air and water quality, neighborhood conditions, climate change and emergency response. In addition, Elizabeth oversaw the department’s legislative activities, community assessment processes and outcomes evaluation framework. In the late 1990’s, Elizabeth served as a fellow for the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

Elizabeth received a bachelor of arts degree from Rice University and a master’s degree from the University of Texas School of Public Health.

Fond Farewells

This year, we had five members departing the board. TFN would like to thank them for lending their time, talents and counsel to the network’s board of directors.

“One of TFN’s many strengths is the commitment shown by funders like Elizabeth, Cheryl, Todd, Wendy and John,” said Tom Woiwode, who was named TFN’s new board chairperson at the annual conference in Houston. “It has been an honor to work with them all these many years, and I’m especially grateful for John’s leadership as board chairman. Another of TFN’s strengths is the opportunity for funders to connect with the network in a variety of ways, so I have no doubt we’ll continue benefit from the insight and energy of these former board members.”

With gratitude, we recognize:

John Mitterholzer, Senior Program Officer, Environment, The George Gund Foundation and Former TFN Board Chairperson

Cheryl Casciani, Director of Special Projects, Baltimore Community Foundation and Former Treasurer, TFN Board of Directors

Wendy Lewis Jackson, Managing Director, Detroit, Kresge Foundation

Elizabeth Lynn, Executive Director, van Beuren Charitable Foundation

Todd Vogel, Managing Director, Loom Foundation

New Officers Elected

TFN’s membership also elected a new slate of officers to serve on the board of directors. All of the officers serve one-year terms, except for the chairperson, who serves two years.

Chairperson: Tom Woiwode, Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan

Vice Chairperson: Craig Martinez, The California Endowment

Treasurer: Alece Montez, Orton Family Foundation

Secretary: Darryl Young, The Summit Foundation